Per offrirti una migliore esperienza di navigazione, il sito utilizza dei cookies. Continuando la navigazione nel sito autorizzi l'uso dei cookies.

The Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy

"The nine Sacri Monti (Holy Mountains) of Northern Italy are groups of chapels and other buildings erected between the end of the 15th and the beginning of the 18th century, dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic and spiritual significance, they offer a wonderful example of integration between architecture and the surrounding landscape, characterized by hills, forests and lakes. They also host an important artistic heritage of wall paintings and statues”. This is the motivation by UNESCO as it registered the "Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy" among the World Heritage List in 2003.


Sacri Monti logo of Piedmont and Lombardy


the territory

The territories of the Sacri Monti offer many opportunities to visit the vast and varied monumental, cultural and landscape heritage that surrounds them: here are some suggestions for a pleasant exploration of local art, traditions and flavours.


suggested itineraries
Sacri Monti Educational

Visita Sacri Monti Educational

Questo portale è un progetto finanziato a valere sui fondi della Legge 20 febbraio 2006, n. 77
Misure speciali di tutela e fruizione dei siti italiani di interesse culturale, paesaggistico e ambientale inseriti nella lista del patrimonio mondiale posti sotto la tutela dell'UNESCO
This work was carried out with funds made available under Law 77 of 20 February 2006

Progetto Interreg "MAIN10ANCE" ID 473472

 logo Progetto Interreg MAIN10ANCE

Progetto GAL TERRE DEL SESIA: PSR 2014-20, MISURA 7.6.4





logo linkedin       logo facebook        logo instagram