Per offrirti una migliore esperienza di navigazione, il sito utilizza dei cookies. Continuando la navigazione nel sito autorizzi l'uso dei cookies.

The Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy

The nine Sacri Monti of Northern Italy are groups of chapels and other architectural edifices constructed in the 16th and 17th centuries, dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic and spiritual significance, they also possess notable characteristics of beauty, virtue and pleasantness, and they are integrated in natural and scenic environments of hills, woods and lakes. They also contain very important artistic remains (frescoes an statues)”. With this motivation, in 2003 the UNESCO registered the site “Sacred Mounts of Piemonte and of Lombardia” in its World Heritage List. 


Sacri Monti logo of Piedmont and Lombardy


the territory

The territories of the Sacri Monti offer many opportunities to visit the vast and varied monumental, cultural and landscape heritage that surrounds them: here are some suggestions for a pleasant exploration of local art, traditions and flavours.


suggested itineraries

Questo portale è un progetto finanziato a valere sui fondi della Legge 20 febbraio 2006, n. 77
Misure speciali di tutela e fruizione dei siti italiani di interesse culturale, paesaggistico e ambientale inseriti nella lista del patrimonio mondiale posti sotto la tutela dell'UNESCO
This work was carried out with funds made available under Law 77 of 20 February 2006

Progetto Interreg "MAIN10ANCE" ID 473472

 logo Progetto Interreg MAIN10ANCE

logo linkedin       logo facebook        logo instagram